Common Breeding Birds

內容簡述

The indicator of the bird, which familiar to the general public, is an excellent indicator of environmental health.

橫軸標籤

年份(年)

縱軸標籤

數量

指標圖表樣式

line

Indicator Details

Themes

Population of selected taxa

PSBR model type

State (S)

Corresponding targets

Aichi Biodiversity Targets

Target 19: By 2020, knowledge, the science base and technologies relating to biodiversity, its values, functioning, status and trends, and the consequences of its loss, are improved, widely shared and transferred, and applied.

Biodiversity Action Plan

D12030 Strengthen the research on population changes of indicator animals, plants, and microorganisms. Key performance indicator of the action plan:

  • Research projects on the change of indicator species

Background

Birds are a well-known taxon to the public, which has long-term monitoring data and is considered to be an excellent indicator of environmental health. Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) is a large-scale and long-term survey project for common birds. The project incorporates government agencies and non-governmental organizations, through the participation of citizen scientists, to monitor the populations of common birds in Taiwan with the same standardized survey methods. Through the temporal and spatial changes of common bird populations, the relationship between the environment and bird populations is derived which provides important information for management and decision-making.

Definition and Calculation

Raw data is the survey results on 92 common bird species in Taiwan from different years, which represents the spatial density and temporal frequency of bird monitoring. The Common Breeding Bird indicator uses the population data of common bird species obtained from surveys within a specific year as the baseline and the tally of population data from different locations and years to calculate the number of birds in different habitats. The code of the diagram is listed as the following:

Codes Represented habitats
A Forest
B Farmland
C Herbal vegetation
D Freshwater
E Fish farm and salt field
F Coastal areas
G Buildings
H Others

The data and temporal range

Annual Tally Data of Common Breeding Birds from Monitoring Projects (2009–2017)

Trends

According to the trend diagram, from 2017 to 2019, the overall bird population shows a trend of gradual increase. However, the bird species that prefer farmlands within the range of human activity are increasing(, while bird species that prefer natural habitats away from humans are decreasing). The reason would be the degradation of natural habitats due to the expansion of human activities or the invasion of alien species, which changes the ratios of the two types of birds. The actual reason needs further verification via examing the changes in locations and landscapes together with the changes in populations.

Data Management Authorities

Endemic Species Research Institute, Council of Agriculture

References

Website of Breeding Birds Survey (BBS)

Data Development Status

I

Data Providers

Endemic Species Research Institute, Council of Agriculture

Investigation Year

2009-2017

Id

VI.190005

常見繁殖鳥類

內容簡述

鳥類族群指標是一般大眾所熟習的物種,且被認為是ㄧ種絕佳的環境健康反映指標

橫軸標籤

年份(年)

縱軸標籤

數量

指標圖表樣式

line

指標詳情

所屬議題

選定生物族群數量

指標類別

狀態( S )

指標對應

愛知目標

目標19:
到2020年,與生物多樣性、其價值和功能,其狀況和趨勢以及其喪失可能帶來的後果有關的知識、科學基礎和技術已經提昇、廣泛分享和移轉及使用。

生物多樣性行動方案

D12030 加強具指標性之動物、植物、微生物物種族群變化之研究。
行動方案績效指標:

  • 指標性物種類群變化之研究項目

發展背景

鳥類族群指標是一般大眾較熟習的物種,有長期的監測資料且被認為是絕佳的環境健康反映指標。繁殖鳥類調查(breeding bird survey, BBS)是針對常見鳥類的大尺度長時間調查計畫。計畫結合政府機關與民間組織,透過公民科學家參與,以相同規範的調查方法監測全臺常見鳥類的族群數量。透過常見鳥類的族群時間、空間變化,推衍環境與鳥類族群的相互關係,並提供經營決策重要資訊。

定義及計算方式

原始資料為不同年度92種常見鳥種在全臺灣各地的調查筆數呈現,顯示鳥類監測的空間密度與時間頻度。常見鳥類指標是以特定年度的鳥類調查數量為基準,指標以不同年度常見鳥種在全臺灣各地調查的統計結果,分別以不同棲地鳥種的數量為計算主軸。圖中代號:

代號 代表棲地
A 森林
B 農耕地
C 草生植被
D 水域(淡水)
E 魚塭鹽田
F 海岸
G 建築區
H 其他

現有資料內容及所跨年度

每年度之常見繁殖鳥類監測統計資料(2009–2017年)

指標趨勢

由趨勢圖可見,2009年至2017年整體鳥類數量有逐漸上升的趨勢,然而偏好居住在人類活動區域的農耕地鳥種數量增加,可能是自然環境條件因人為擴張或外來種入侵而劣化,致使兩者比例產生變動。實際情況如何,仍需配合地理位置與地景變遷,方可進一步確認。

資料管理/權責單位

特有生物研究保育中心

參考資訊

BBS臺灣繁殖鳥類大調查網站

資料發展現狀

I

資料集提供者

行政院農業委員會特有生物研究保育中心

調查年份

2009-2017

編號

VI.190005